PAYMENTS ON VENMO
Venmo should only be used to transact with people you know. Do not use Venmo to pay or receive payments from people you don’t know, especially if the payment involves the purchase or sale of a good or service. Such payments are potentially high risk and you could lose your money without getting what you paid for. You should only consider using Venmo to purchase a good or service when you are given the option to do so, for example, (i) via approved merchant websites or apps that are authorized by Venmo to display the Venmo button as a payment method or (ii) using the Venmo Card at merchants that accept the card as a form of payment.
BUYER AND SELLER BEWARE
Venmo does not offer a buyer or seller protection program for transactions conducted using the Venmo app or Venmo.com, regardless of the nature of the payment (or charge), unless expressly offered to you by Venmo. Authorized Merchant Payments and Venmo Card transactions may be eligible for protection under the Venmo Protected Purchase Program. See Venmo’s User Agreement for more information on Authorized Merchant Payments, Venmo Card transactions and related protection. The Venmo Protected Purchase Program does not apply to any payment you make (or charge you accept) using the Venmo app or Venmo website, regardless of the nature of the payment (or charge).
WHO CAN SEE MY TRANSACTIONS?
When you pay or get paid on Venmo, you decide who can see it. You can select the settings, including Public (visible to everyone on the Internet), Friends (visible to sender, recipient, and their Venmo friends), or Private (visible to sender and recipient only). Payment amounts are always secret.
Your initial default privacy setting is Public, so everyone on the Internet can see your payments. You can change it for each transaction individually, or for all in Settings. If you and your friend use different privacy settings, we use the more restrictive one when you’re paying each other.
FRIENDS ON VENMO
Venmo’s automatic friending feature makes it easy to find, pay and share transactions with your phone contacts and Facebook friends on Venmo. If you sync your phone contacts and/or Facebook profile with Venmo, you will automatically appear as a friend on Venmo to (and be friends on Venmo with) any Venmo user that has your contact information in their phone or is friends with you on Facebook. This will only occur with respect to other Venmo users that have synced their phone contacts and Facebook profiles with Venmo, and only if those users have not disabled the automatic friending feature.
After you enroll, you can prevent future automatic friending of phone contacts or Facebook friends you acquire after enrolling in Venmo by disabling the feature in Settings > Friends & Social. If you disable this feature, you will still remain friends with anyone on Venmo that you were friends with at the time the feature was disabled.
SECURE YOUR VENMO ACCOUNT
You can help protect your Venmo account by enabling a passcode lock. Go to Settings > Security > Passcode Lock to enable this feature. Learn more about security on Venmo here. If you have a Venmo Card, you can disable it at any time in the Venmo app.
BANK WITHDRAWAL TIMING
When withdrawing funds to your bank account we will show you an estimated arrival date for when the funds will be available in your bank account. Withdrawal requests submitted prior to 7 PM Eastern on business days will typically be available in your bank account the next business day. Business days exclude weekends and holidays. The actual arrival date may vary and your withdrawal requests may be delayed in the event we need more information to verify your identity or confirm the validity of the payment(s) you are requesting to withdraw.
You may not use Venmo to conduct transactions that: